✨Win Your Order Back! ✨

Place an order (any order!) between now and Monday

for your chance to win it in FULL!💫

✨Win Your Order Back! ✨

Place an order (any order!) between now and Monday

for your chance to win it in FULL!💫

0

Get your fantasy fix with these dreamy novels.

| By Rachael Thompson | Journal

Loved ‘Fourth Wing’? Here’s What to Read Next

Get your fantasy fix with these dreamy novels.

It's official. Fantasy romance novels have taken over the publishing industry and BookTok. Perhaps it's a response to the pandemic and chaotic news cycle that has seen so many of us craving a bit of escapism – because where better to escape than deep in the pages of another world?

One such novel that has taken over social media and the hearts of both bibliophiles and those who haven't picked up a book in years is Fourth Wing by Rebecca Yarros. This spicy, enemies-to-lovers tale pulled us into the brutal and elite world of Basgiath War College, and readers couldn't get enough of it.

If you've finished this viral phenomenon and are looking for your next page-turner, draw your attention to one of these other guilty pleasure reads.

1. Iron Flame by Rebecca Yaros

We'll start with the most obvious choice. If you loved Fourth Wing, you obviously need to get stuck into the next book in the Empyrean series.

Iron Flame was released in November last year and has received the same rave reviews as its predecessor.

A continuation from where Fourth Wing ended, expect greater challenges for Violet in her second year at dragon-riding school. And yes, Xaden and Violet's romance is just as spicy in book number two.

2. A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas

A book that drew a lot of newcomers to the romance fantasy genre was A Court of Thorns and Roses by Sarah J. Maas. The first book of the six-part ACOTAR series narrates the adventures of a huntress (Feyre Archeron) after she is brought into the faerie lands of Prythian.

This slow-burn romance is a loose retelling of Beauty and the Beast with elements of faerie lore and high fantasy.

3. From Blood and Ash by Jennifer L. Armentrout

The first book in the "Blood and Ash" series, this steamy romance explores themes of power, destiny, and forbidden love.

Set in a world where there are mortal and immortal beings – including vampires – From Blood and Ash follows the life of Poppy, a maiden who lives an overly sheltered and controlled life, surrounded by guards.

The story takes an intriguing turn when Poppy encounters a mysterious and attractive guard named Hawke.

4. Divine Rivals: A Novel (Letters of Enchantment #1) by Rebecca Ross

Centring on an epic enemies-to-lovers trope, this novel has a more "old world" feel to it. Divine Rivals takes place during a war between two ancient gods who are using mortals to fight for them.

Amidst the chaos, journalist Iris has been writing letters to her brother who is missing on the frontline of the war. However, they've landed in the hands of her rival journalist, Roman Kitt.

This is the story of two people who find love through a magical connection.

5. Outlander by Diana Gabaldon

This romantic period drama meets fantasy is an all-engaging and all-encompassing read, full of mystery and passion.

Protagonist Claire Beauchamp accidentally time travels back from her present-day in post-WWII Scotland back to 1743, to a country on the brink of civil war. There, she stumbles into the path of the dashing Jamie, and a time-travelling, multi-dimensional, era-spanning love story ensues.

6. Uprooted by Naomi Novik

Set in the village of Dvernik, near a mysterious and corrupted forest called the "Wood", Uprooted is a story that's inspired by Polish folklore and fairytales.

Every ten years, the village must send a girl, known as the Dragon's tribute, to serve a powerful wizard known as the Dragon.

Agnieszka unexpectedly becomes the chosen girl by the Dragon who selects her for her magical abilities. She gets caught up in a struggle against the malevolent forces of the Wood and a slow-burning romance unfolds.

7. The Atlas Six by Olivie Blake

The first book in the The Atlas trilogy, The Atlas Six is a dark academic fantasy that follows six uniquely talented magicians as they battle it out to earn one of five spots in a a prestigious magical society.

Centring on their relationships with one another, this book is a little bit of a slow burn but it's well worth the patience.

8. Red Queen by Victoria Aveyard

There's less of a romance element to this novel, but the fantasy element comes in strong, so if you enjoyed that aspect of Fourth Wing, this should also appeal.

In this dystopian fantasy novel, your status in the world depends on the colour of your blood; red or silver. The Reds are the commoners, ruled by the elite Silvers who possess god-like superpowers.

Despite her Red blood, protagonist Mare learns that she possesses a superpower that's reserved only for the Silver rulers.

9. A Touch Of Darkness by Scarlett St. Clair

But if you really enjoyed the smuttiness of Fourth Wing, A Touch of Darkness ramps it up a notch.

A reimagining of the Hades and Persephone Greek myth, it follows the Goddess of Spring, as she poses as a mortal and becomes entangled with the God of the Underworld.

It’s the first in a six-part series – the first three books are told from Persephone’s perspective while the last three are from Hades's POV.

10. The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes by Suzanne Collins

It's hard to ignore this one when looking for similar books to Fourth Wing. The prequel to The Hunger Games series, The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes is set in the dystopian world of Panem, 64 years before the events of the first novel.

The novel primarily focuses on the character Coriolanus Snow, who later becomes the ruthless President Snow, and his complex and evolving relationship with the tribute from District 12, Lucy Gray Baird.

Welcome to Bed Threads

It looks like you’re in the United Kingdom. Enjoy…

  • Free shipping UK-wide
  • Easy returns
  • All duties and taxes included

Your Order (0)

Free Standard Shipping
Your cart is currently empty.
Not sure where to start?

You May Also Like

  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews
  •  

     
    0 out of 5, from reviews